6 Months Later, 107 miles each way to work, 120F Desert Heat

Chevy Bolt EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Bolt EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iankh

I thought I'd post an update on my Bolt life, now that I've been driving it for 6 months.

At first the thought of owning an EV made me nervous for several reasons:

• My drive into the office for my in-office days is about 107 miles each way, over hilly terrain and through mountain passes. I drive from Palm Springs to Carlsbad.
  • I live in the desert and we had one of the worst summers recently with temperatures getting up to 121F

So, 6 months into life with my Bolt, named Farraday, has been better than I could have hoped for. The long drive in the Bolt is extremely comfortable and Farraday came out of the hot, hot summer like a champ.

I have made some changes to my driving habits:
  • My Garmin is set to "shortest distance" so I could save on power and also, because the car is leased save some miles. This setting has cut out about 40 miles for a round-trip each week, netting a savings of about 1000 miles. I also learned that I much more prefer the route I now take. I actually like spending less time on the freeway, the drive is more pleasant
  • I've learned to slow down. My foot is not heavy on the accelerator anymore. The surprise was that it didn't make much of a difference in my commute time
  • I charge when I'm in Carlsbad. I could probably make the roundtrip on a full battery, but peace of mind is important to me. I typically stop at an EVGo and it takes me between 15 and 20 minutes to get to 80%. An unforeseen side benefit is that the charging experience is pretty pleasant. Not at all like going to a gas station. Much more like going to the dog park. I often stand around and shoot the breeze with other EV owners.