Bose Question

Chevy Bolt EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Bolt EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steve2150

Have the Premier and my question is on the Bose, the window sticker shows 6 speakers whereas the Bolt brochure downloaded shows the basic system as 6 speakers and the Bose system as 7 speakers including subwoofer. Any idea which is right the sticker or brochure.

The 7th speaker is in the Bose subwoofer under the rear cargo area. That being said, speaker count has no real correlation with sound quality.

Also, the subwoofer doesn't look like what most people think of when they hear "speaker". But what comes out seems amazing given the size of the thing...

I've been saying it for 30 years so I might as well say it again ... "BOSE SUCKS!"

I said that mostly in regards to home theater systems. In homes you can usually afford the space to get a decent sized speakers so the need to go with tiny satellite speakers and one sub is nill. Unless you live in a shoebox, bigger speakers always sound better if you have the wattage to push them.

In a car, you don't have that much space available so I understand the compromise. Bose would actually be keenly positioned to design an appropriate sound stage. Comparing the Bose stereo in my Bolt to other oem systems I've heard, Bose sounds pretty good. It doesn't hold a candle to a real aftermarket system with about 1000 watts of power, component speakers and a subwoofer... but it's not trying to. For a factory system, it sounds damn good. It's way better than any OEM Sony or OEM JBL systems I've heard.

The Bose system used in the Leaf, which I suspect is the same one used in the Bolt, was developed to use as little power as possible in EVs. 10 watts typically, IIRC.

SmokingRubber said:
I've been saying it for 30 years so I might as well say it again ... "BOSE SUCKS!"