"Auto" HVAC questions

Chevy Bolt EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Bolt EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mwk

So I've been driving my Bolt for a few months now and I have a question about the hvac. Specifically the "Auto" setting. I've read and re-read the owners manual but it just isn't really clear to me.

Is there a way to adjust what "Auto" means? In other words, in my car when it's set to "Auto", it seems to insist that the air in the car be recycled. As soon as I turn recycling off, the "Auto" light goes off too. The fan speed also seems to be fixed and if I touch that, the light also goes off. Another issue: I'm wondering about setting the temperature in the car. I hate an overheated car so I have the temp set to 63. But, I still find that it gets very warm and stuffy in the car. I haven't tried putting a separate thermometer in the car to measure it, but it seems absolutely certain that it's much hotter than 63 in the car once the heat gets going.

Is the temperature setting only effective when the car is in "Auto" mode? I'd turn off the heat entirely and rely on the heated seats, but I'm finding that the windows seem to start fogging up when I turn it off.

When you the car set to Auto, all you can do is select a temperature. The car then decides how to adjust the fan speed, heat/AC on or off, vent mode, and recirc mode, to achieve that desired temperature. Typically if you are trying to rapidly cool down the interior of a car, you want recirc on. If it’s cold out and you have fogging you want recirc off, but AC on (using the AC helps dehumidify the interior).