What about 480VAC charging?

Chevy Bolt EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Bolt EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gpsman

What if I have convieniently placed 480 VAC power outlets? (4 wire 3 phase) Is this helpful for charging? How would I attach this to a Bolt EV?

I believe you could install L3 fast charging if you have 480VAC with enough power. However, an L3 station is probably more expensive than you would be willing to spend. Also, I wouldn't think you could get one with a plug, only hard wired.

If you didn't want to go the L3 route then you'll be limited to 240V charging, which (and here I must warn you that I'm not an electrician) I imagine you could tap off one of the 480V phases.

SeanNelson said:
If you didn't want to go the L3 route then you'll be limited to 240V charging, which (and here I must warn you that I'm not an electrician) I imagine you could tap off one of the 480V phases.
No. A 4 wire 480V system is presumably a wye system, so the neutral to phase voltage is 277V. If the Bolt charger and the J1772 standard are rated for 277V, then you could charge using one phase conductor and one neutral. [I don't know about either of those questions.] Otherwise, you'd need a transformer.

Cheers, Wayne

gpsman said:
What if I have convieniently placed 480 VAC power outlets? (4 wire 3 phase) Is this helpful for charging? How would I attach this to a Bolt EV?

Only way to do this would be to somehow get the power down from 480VAC to 208VAC or 240VAC and then wire up a standard L2 EVSE. Apparently you need a transformer of some sort to do that. Just tapping off of one of the hot wires won't work. I don't think the J1772 spec even covers 277VAC.

I was reading about the wye connection and the 277 VAC one leg to ground.

I am mostly wondering is 277 V is "close enough" for a 240 VAC EVSE.