Charging on battery storage with solar charging

Chevy Bolt EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Bolt EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Has anyone attempted to build a stand alone off grid solar charging station for charging an EV? I have 4 solar panels that I use in the summer that are connected to pool pump for filtration. I have been using for 7 years with no issues here in NJ. During the winter they lay around no doing much. I was able to acquire 15 100 amp hour AGM batteries that were used for solar monitoring applications. I am able to use for some out door projects such a lighting pond filtration but it is really a waste not to be able to use for something better. I tried connecting to my 1500 watt inverter with no load to the EVSE provided in the car but I get a red light. The system is grounded properly. Question is if any one has tried this, what inverter are you using? Thanks.

Oregon State University has a Solar Trailer they bring to events. We have had it at our Drive Electric Week event the last few years.

Solar Trailer specifications:

1800 watt solar array - nine Sanyo 200 watt solar modules
Two 3.6 kilowatt Outback grid interactive inverters capable of 7.2 kW (60 Amps @ 120 Volt or 30 Amps @ 240 Volt)
About 25 kilowatt hours of battery storage in an advanced lithium-ion battery pack, with a custom battery management system installed by Shift Electric Vehicles in Albany, Oregon
One SAE-J1772 Electric Vehicle Safety Equipment (EVSE) charging system
Two 20 amp 120 volt circuits feeding 4 standard 120V household outlets
One 30 amp 240 volt circuit powering one dryer style outlet
Wattsun dual axis sun tracker
Expandable, fold out array
Mechanical lift moves array into sun tracking position

http://fa.oregonstate.edu/sustainability/operations/energy/renewable-energy

https://www.facebook.com/OSUSolarTrailer/

At this years event powering the Nissan display tent