jdunmyer
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:18 pm

infotainment screen frozen

Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:40 pm

Yesterday, the screen froze up, pressing anything did nothing. The "home" button next to the volume control also was inoperative. After shutting down the car, the screen remained lit up.

As I was home, and had other stuff to do, I figured I'd leave it sit, then disconnect the 12-volt battery so as to reboot the system. (dunno if it'd work, but it sounded good). After leaving it for just a few minutes, I returned to the car and found the screen dark. Pressed the 'Go' button and the car booted up normally; cycled it a couple of times and all was well. Went to supper later and it was still OK.

There WAS an unusual sequence when leaving the restaurant after lunch: the RR door was ajar, according to the screen. I stopped, put it in Park, the RR passenger opened and closed his door, and away we went. It was sometime after that that I noticed the frozen screen.

Anyone else ever have this happen? I was NOT looking forward to taking it to the dealer, he's 20 miles away and this is almost certainly the only Bolt he's sold.

RickCH
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:54 pm

Re: infotainment screen frozen

Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:13 pm

You can force a reset by holding down the Home and Fast Forward buttons together until the infotainment resets.

If it's not the latest version (14.4.2), the infotaintainment update might help.

jdunmyer
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:18 pm

Re: infotainment screen frozen

Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:28 pm

Rick,
Thanks for the info, I'll try to remember it for when/if there's a next time.

Rick said:

If it's not the latest version (14.4.2), the infotaintainment update might help.


How do you tell the version? Can they update over the air like Tesla, or do I have to take it in?

While you're here, is there any way of telling the charging rate? IE: if I plug into a "strange" EVSE or DCQC, can I ascertain how much juice is actually flowing into the car? Also, is that info about the reset in the manual?

Thanks again!! <<Jim Dunmyer, Temperance, MI>>

winterescape
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:35 pm

Re: infotainment screen frozen

Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:16 am

jdunmyer wrote:Rick,
Thanks for the info, I'll try to remember it for when/if there's a next time.

Rick said:

If it's not the latest version (14.4.2), the infotaintainment update might help.


How do you tell the version? Can they update over the air like Tesla, or do I have to take it in?

While you're here, is there any way of telling the charging rate? IE: if I plug into a "strange" EVSE or DCQC, can I ascertain how much juice is actually flowing into the car? Also, is that info about the reset in the manual?

Thanks again!! <<Jim Dunmyer, Temperance, MI>>


Jim,
Has happened to me 3 or 4 times in the 6 months I have owned the Bolt. I plan to get the software update first tire rotation which does list "screen freeze" as one of the items it resolves. GM has over the air update ability on the Bolt but has not started using it yet, rumored to begin the first quarter of 2018 so might be very soon.

When it is frozen If you just wait a bit the "watchdog timer" reboots the infotainment and resolves the issue on its own, Just as it did for you.

To see the charge rate sitting in the car the display that shows the power used or the regen power on the right of the display also displays the charging rate. So just like regen you can see the power flowing into the battery from the EVSE.

jdunmyer
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:18 pm

Re: infotainment screen frozen

Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:07 pm

Thanks for the info!

Coming from 4 years of 2 different Leafs, I'm used to certain information being displayed in particular ways, the Bolt is quite different in some respects, and it's taking some getting used to. However, the information seems to be there and I'm finding it more natural to access and use.

Things like bypassing the charge timer: The Leaf has a hard button, the Bolt has you unplug/replug the charge connector. Resetting the departure time requires a sequence of pokes & prods of the infotainment screen, doing it a couple of times makes it much easier. (still not automatic for me) Bypassing the "hilltop mode" isn't as easy as I'd like, it'd be nice to have a simple button push (screen poke) to do this on a one-time basis.

Still haven't figured out how to make & receive phone calls using the cars's interface. Tried it once, it didn't work, read the manual, but haven't tried it again. My 2014 VW Passat worked great, voice recognition was near 100%. I replaced that with a Nissan Muranno that's much like the Leaf: kinda hit & miss.

Anyway, other than the seats, I'm becoming more and more enamored of the Bolt every day. Best part is the range; on its worst day so far (cold, cold Winter), it's better than the best day for my 2016 Leaf. That means many more trips driving the Bolt instead of the Murrano; it has sat in the garage for over 3 weeks now!

winterescape
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:35 pm

Re: infotainment screen frozen

Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:48 pm

jdunmyer wrote:Still haven't figured out how to make & receive phone calls using the cars's interface. Tried it once, it didn't work, read the manual, but haven't tried it again.


Assuming you have a bluetooth phone paired to the vehicle, push and HOLD the microphone button (profile of persons head with sound waves coming from mouth) on the steering wheel. The main display will bring up a big picture of a microphone with the caption "voice recognition” and it will respond to commands like "call Jim on cell"

At least that is the way it works with an Android connected phone, Apple might be slightly different

To receive an incomming call on a paired phone just touch the microphone button (profile of persons head with sound waves coming from mouth)

Return to “Technical Discussions”