EV Charging Practical Issues

Chevy Bolt EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Bolt EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roundpeg

Happy/Merry Bolters!

My dealership tells me to expect delivery of my Bolt on Wednesday or Thursday of next week so I am making my list and checking it twice. As an EV noob I am hoping the experienced EV'ers here can fill me in on some of the more practical issues i will soon face with charging.

First, I decided on a plug-in EVSE for the garage (JuiceBox). Probably it won't be installed until after the first of the year, depending on when Emotorwerks ships it to me. It seemed like the less complicated installation for no other reason than my electrician can install the 14-50 outlet before I get the EVSE, and I can handle the rest. The other theoretical advantage is it can be taken on the road.

So, that's my first question: Has anyone made any real use of their "portable" EVSE away from home? Does it make any sense to throw it in the car for emergencies?

Second, I've spend quite a bit of time studying the maps of public chargers online. What is the best source of this information? PlugShare I notice has far fewer listings than ChargePoint. What source to you rely on when you are looking for a charge in an unfamiliar place?

Finally, it seems as if a ChargePoint card is pretty nearly mandatory, but I don't know. It appears at a minimum they hide some information from non-account holders.

Thanks!

roundpeg said:
PlugShare I notice has far fewer listings than ChargePoint.
I'm not an EV owner (yet), but PlugShare seems to be the go-to app that most people recommend. It has the ability to filter which charging stations you see by connector type, so it may be that the reason you didn't see as many listings was because they were being filtered.

SeanNelson said: